Grand Season's final for the F430 GT

Maranello (Modena), 9 November 2009 -- At this season's sixth and last race in the International GT Open and Spanish GT Championship, held over the last weekend at the Portuguese circuit Parco Algarve, two Ferraris won the 2009 titles in both series, racing together in separate classifications.

Marcel Fassler and Joel Camathias, with the F430 GT2 started by Trottet Racing, won the title in the International GT Open. The drivers from the Swiss team held the leadership in the championship over the whole season. Therefore winning the first race held on Saturday was enough for them to gain the title. At the end of race 1 the Ferrari crossed the line ahead of the two Porsche 911 with Gianluca Roda-Richard Lietz and Raymond Narac-Patrick Pilet, while in the second race, held on Sunday, the first F430 crossing the line was the one driven by Marco Cioci and Piergiuseppe Perazzini (Megadrive), behind the three Porsches with Narac-Pilet, Jean Philippe Belloc-Richard Balandras and Roda-Lietz.

At the end of the races held at the Parco Algarve circuit the Spanish GT Championship was won by the Portuguese drivers Ricardo Bravo and Lourenco da Veiga. In their home race the ASM Team drivers finished only fifth in the first race, with the F430 of Peter Sundberg-Juan Manuel Lopez (Exact Racing), the Porsche 911 with Miguel Amaral-Miguel A. de Castro and the Mosler with Martin Short on the podium. In race 2 the two Portuguese drivers conquered a spectacular victory ahead of the Porsche with Amaral-De Castro and the other Ferrari driven by Sundberg- Lopez.

Amongst the other important results gained by the F430 over the last weekend there was this season's second victory for Team Daishin orange car in the Japanese Super GT Championship. The only Ferrari GT2 racing in Japan and beautifully driven by Tomonobu Fujii won the race at the Fuji circuit last September and crossed the line first at the last race of this season held at Motegi, ahead of the Mazda RX-7 with Taniguchi-Orime and the Lexus with Orido-Kataoka, who won the Championship.

-credit: ferrari