Before the final race of the season at Daytona, asked members of the media, Grand Am Cup officials, and Grand Am Cup participants (who had competed in the first nine races) to vote on several different awards.

With the Grand Am Cup being an endurance based series, the crew for each team is as important as the driver. The leader of those crew members, the Crew Chief, can play as pivotal a role in the outcome of the race as the drivers. One category that gave awards out was for the Crew Chief of the Year Award in each class.

Super Grand Sports Crew Chief of the Year: Dave Stevenson - Powell Motorsport
With six wins this season, the Powell Motorsport effort took home the Driver's Championship (Doug Goad and Devon Powell), Team Championship, and the Manufacturer's Championship (for Chevrolet). This marked the fourth time in five years that Powell Motorsport has won the Triple Crown.

Grand Sports Crew Chief of the Year: David Haskell - SpeedSource
David Haskell co-drove with Grand Sports Champion, Sylvain Tremblay, this year in addition to his duties with SpeedSource as the Crew Chief. This marked Haskell's second Crew Chief of the Year award.

Sports Touring Crew Chief of the Year: Scott Zellner - King Motorsports
Scott Zellner was the Crew Chief on the #64 Acura Integra that brought home Bob Endicott the Driver's Championship and Acura the Manufacturer Championship.

C2K Crew Chief of the Year: Mike Thomas - Planet Earth Motorsports
Mike Thomas served as the Crew Chief on the Planet Earth Motorsports effort as they took home six wins and fifteen podiums en route to the Triple Crown Championship.

The second award given out by was the Rising Star Award. This award is given out as a way to recognize drivers who are on there way to becoming stars in sports car racing.

Super Grand Sports Rising Stars: Dino Steiner and Ian James
Steiner and James finished third and fourth in the Driver Championship, and took home a win in their first year in the SGS Class.

Grand Sports Rising Star: David Haskell
SpeedSource driver David Haskell won eight races this year, tying the mark for most number of wins in a single professional street stock endurance season.

Sports Touring Rising Star: Jeff Trask
Trask's 2001 campaign with Villaconn International was highlighted by a win at Trois Rivieres and Villaconn's winning of the Team Championship.

C2K Rising Star: John Schmitt
Schmitt took home fifth place in the C2K Driver's Points this year, scoring three podium finishes in the ten race Grand Am Cup season.

Two other awards were also given out:
Best Paint Scheme: SpeedSource
Most Professional Paddock: Team Lexus and SpeedSource

The awards were especially meaningful for the participants as they were decided by their fellow peers voting.

-Wayne Nonnamaker