Four Rolex Series drivers nominated for 2002 Auto Racing All-America Team.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (November 13, 2002) -- Four Rolex Sports Car Series drivers have been nominated for the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association's 2002 Auto Racing All-America team. Didier Theys, Chris Dyson and Terry Borcheller are on the ballot in the Road Racing category, while Bill Auberlen was nominated in the At-Large category.

Nearly 300 members of the motorsports press will select the 12-driver All-America team. Six drivers appear on the ballots in each category, and two from each category will be named to the first team. The four Rolex Series drivers are also eligible for the Jerry Titus Award, which will be awarded to the driver receiving the most votes regardless of category.

Theys captured his first Rolex Series championship this season, taking the crown in the premier SportsRacing Prototype class. He won four races at the wheel of the Doran Lista Racing #27 Judd-powered Dallara, including his second Rolex 24 At Daytona. In previous years, Theys was named to AARWBA's All-America second team and received an honorable mention.

Rookie Dyson will make his first appearance on the ballot after winning five Rolex Series races in 2002. Dyson finished second to Theys in the SRP driver championship point standings, but led Dyson Racing Team to its third-straight team title in the class.

Borcheller earned his spot on the ballot after capturing the 2002 SportsRacing Prototype II driver championship. He garnered seven SRPII wins this season in the Rand Racing #8 Nissan-engined Lola, leading Rand Racing to the SRPII team title. Additionally, he took two class victories in the Grand-Am Cup Series. Borcheller received second-team honors last season.

Auberlen was nominated in the At-Large category after winning the Rolex Series GT driver championship with his co-driver Cort Wagner. The pair had a five-race winning streak in the Scuderia Ferrari of Washington #33 Ferrari 360 GT. Auberlen is a past second-team honoree.

The AARWBA's 2002 All-America team will be honored at its annual banquet in Burbank, Calif., in January.