Three Rolex Series Drivers Earn First Team All-America Honors

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (December 17, 2004) -- The Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series is well represented on the prestigious American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) All-America Team, as 2004 Daytona Prototype co-champions Scott Pruett and Max Papis and GT champion Bill Auberlen have been selected to the First Team.

Pruett and Papis were selected to the First Team in the Road Racing category, becoming the first set of co-drivers to share a place on the team owing to a change that AARWBA instituted this year where endurance racing co-drivers would share the vote for All-America honors. The No. 01 CompUSA Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley teammates were selected by virtue of their four victories and record 11 pole positions en route to the Daytona Prototype title. As Papis earned his first auto racing championship in 2004, this was his first time as an All-America Team selection. It is Pruett's sixth time as a member of the First Team and his eighth time overall as a member of the All-America Team.

Auberlen was elected to the First Team in the At Large category on the heels of a record-setting 2004 season in the Rolex Series GT class driving the No. 21 Prototype Technology Group BMW M3. Auberlen earned a series high eight class victories and set a Rolex Series record for consecutive class victories with six-in-a-row from Round 2 in Miami through Round 7 at Mid-Ohio. While this is Auberlen's third selection to the All-America team, it is the first time that the Californian has been selected to the First Team.

The All-America Team features racing superstars from throughout North America, and Papis, Pruett and Auberlen join a First Team that also features NASCAR stars Kurt Busch and Jimmie Johnson, open-wheel standouts Tony Kanaan and Sebastien Bourdais, and drag racing legend John Force among others. The team will be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet on January 15, 2005 in Pomona, Calif., and the driver who received the most votes overall will be presented with the prestigious Jerry Titus Award.

-grand am-