Donohue brings it home at Mont-Tremblant

David Donohue qualified on pole, started the race and drove the final stint to take the win at the Mont-Tremblant six-hour Grand American Rolex Series endurance event. His teammates, Mike Borkowski and Sascha Maassen, also drove flawlessly to give the No. 58 Brumos Racing Porsche FABCAR Daytona Prototype the victory.

#58 Brumos Racing Porsche Fabcar: David Donohue, Mike Borkowski, Sascha Maassen.
Photo by Eric Gilbert.
Donohue and Borkowski extended their points in the DP standings with their third win of the season. Maassen was the third driver for today's endurance race; he is a Porsche factory driver and a past winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

"We needed this win for a lot reasons," expressed Donohue. "Not just the championship points, but we needed the lift. Our team has done their homework. Our car was really good and reliable, and the handling was perfect."

The No. 59 Brumos Racing team car driven by Hurley Haywood, J.C. France and add-on driver Max Papis finished second two laps behind. Andy Lally, Darren Law and Guy Cosmo brought the G&W Motorsports BMW Picchio took the final podium step in DP.

The Bell Motorsports Chevrolet Doran finished fourth in DP, Terry Borcheller was hoping for better as he entered the event just one point behind the two leaders, Donohue and Borkowski who increased their lead to eight over Borcheller.

Last year's winner, the Doran-Lista Toyota Doran entry driven this year by the 2002 Rolex Series champion, Didier Theys with co-drivers Freddy Lienhard and Bill Auberlen developed gearbox problems and fell back in the early hours.

Cort Wagner and Brent Martini extended their point lead in the GT class with the win today. The Scuderia Ferrari of Washington finished third overall but the going for the No. 33 Ferrari was not an easy one with the Rennwerks Motorsports Porsche GT3 RS chasing them down and taking the lead on and off during the six-hours.

#33 Scuderia Ferrari of Washington Ferrari 360GT: Cort Wagner, Brent Martini.
Photo by Eric Gilbert.
"Rennwerks really kept us on our toes today," Wagner commented. "This car didn't miss a shift for six hours - it's so fun to drive."

The winners of the six hours at The Glen, Johannes Van Overbeek, Seth Neiman and Lonnie Pechnik finished second today in their No. 83 Porsche. "We were swapping the lead back and forth, we just didn't get the breaks we needed," stated Neiman.

GTS win went to Heritage Motorsports' Tommy Riggins, Dave Machavern and new teammate, Joao Barbosa. Riggins and Machavern extended their points lead with the win in the No. 48 Mustang.

However, the win was anything but easy today as a steering rack caused them the lead in the early going. The Georgian Bay Corvette took over the lead until they too had problems due to an off-track excursion that took them pff the track behind the pit wall for repairs, drivers Jim Holtom, Ted Martin and Stu Hayer still managed second place in GTS.

"The car was very good, we were catching the No. 38 car very quickly," Barbosa explained after his stint. "We started taking it a little bit easier once they (Georgian Bay Motorsports) had problems."

Once back in the lead, the trio from Heritage never looked back and were happy to get the victory.

"This was one race where we sure were having our troubles," a relieved to have the victory Riggins stated after the race. "But Christmas comes early."