Rolex Series Announces Final Point Standings

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 6, 2001) - The Rolex Sports Car Series announced its final point standings for the 2001 team owner, driver and manufacturer championships. Dyson Racing Team and Archangel Motorsport Services were the big winners in the prototype classes, while G&W Motorsports and Flis Motorsports Team X-1R took the top honors in the GT ranks today.

The Dyson Racing Team swept the SportsRacing Prototype driver and team owner championships for the second-straight year. Englishman James Weaver earned his second driver championship for the team, and Riley & Scott and Ford garnered top honors in the class' chassis and engine manufacturer standings. Dyson's #16 entry won five races this season, including last weekend's Grand-Am Finale.

Doran Lista Racing came in second in the team owner standings, 27 points behind the champion, while Robinson Racing was third, 47 points back.

Atlanta-based Archangel Motorsport Services saw its two Nissan Lolas race their way into the top two in the SportsRacing Prototype II team owner standings, while driver Andy Lally, of Northpoint, N.Y., picked up the driver championship for Archangel.

"To do this with my best friend is just incredible. I can't say enough about the team. My teammates, my crew, my team owner, my engineer, my crew chief - I hold them in the highest regard and they helped me achieve so much. It's been a lifelong dream," Lally said after securing his first driver championship with a second-place finish in the Grand-Am Finale.

Nissan and Lola dominated the SRPII engine and chassis manufacturer standings throughout the year.

G&W Motorsports, of Danville, Va., earned the team owner championship in both the GT and GTS classes. Darren Law, of Phoenix, piloted the team's #81 Porsche GT3 R to the GT class championship, while the #07 Porsche GT2 earned the GTS team owner honors.

"Really the biggest goal we had this year was to get Darren the driver championship," G&W team owner Cole Scrogham said. "To have Darren and Matt (Drendel) finish one-two is really, in some ways, more pleasing than winning the team owner championships."

In his rookie year, Chris Bingham, of Bellevue, Wash., earned his first driver championship in the GTS class. Bingham drove the Park Place Racing #5 Saleen S7R to seven class wins this season. The team finished second in the team owner championship race due to starting the season late.

Porsche earned the top manufacturer honors in both the GT and GTS classes, with Saleen finishing only one point behind in the GTS standings.

Flis Motorsports Team X-1R earned its second American GT team owner championship with its #09 Corvette. After narrowly missing the driver championship last season, Team X-1R's Doug Goad, of Farmington, Mich., and Craig Conway, of Daytona Beach, managed to tie atop the AGT driver standings in 2001.

This year's Rolex 24 At Daytona class winner, the Hamilton Safe Motorsports #11 Camaro, finished second in the AGT team owner standings, 24 points back. The Corvette and Camaro's strong showings ensured Chevrolet the top manufacturer honors in the class.