The third edition of the FIA European Touring Car Cup, that will take place next weekend at the Adria Raceway, Italy, has already met with a brilliant result: a new record in terms of participations.

After the deadline to enter in the event expired today, the official entry list was released and numbers 39 drivers coming from 10 countries and at the wheel of cars from 12 different manufacturers.

This equates to a 50 percent increase compared to the two previous editions.

25 of these competitors (again a new record) will fight for the FIA Super 2000 Cup and 9 for the FIA Super Production Cup.

Five other drivers have been accepted to compete in the new Super 1600 class and they will not be eligible for any of the two FIA Cups.

The FIA European Touring Car Cup's first edition, held in Valellunga, Italy, on 16th October 2005 was won by Richard Goransson from Sweden in a BMW 320i (Super 2000) and Lorenzo Falessi from Italy in an Alfa Romeo 147 (Super Production).

The second edition took place in Estoril, Portugal, on 22nd October 2006 and saw victories of Ryan Sharp from Scotland in a SEAT Leon (Super 2000) and Alexander Lvov from Russia in a Honda Civic (Super Production).

-credit: fiaetcc.com