BURBANK, Calif - The motorsports press is voting to select the 12-driver 2000 Auto Racing All-America team. Among those on the 2000 ballot are the driver who has been named first-team more than any other, World of Outlaws king Steve Kinser (18 times an All-American, 13 times First Team); and two former Jerry Titus Award winners, Dale Earnhardt (1987) and John Force (1996, 1999). Also on the ballot seeking selection in one of six categories - Open Wheel, Stock Car, Road Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track and At Large - are 19 drivers who could be making their first-ever All-American appearance. Members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, have been sent their ballots to vote from among six drivers named in each category. Two from each category will be named to the first team, to be honored Jan. 13, 2001, at the annual AARWBA banquet in Pomona, Calif. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award, much like college football's Heisman Trophy, honors the team's top driver - the one earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category. The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least 5 percent of the vote. AARWBA members have annually chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970. The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005. The following drivers are on the 2000 All-America ballot (0/0/0 indicates previous times elected to first team/second team/honorable mention):

Eddie Cheever Jr (0/4/4) - Third in IRL standings, first Infiniti win, IROC win
Gil de Ferran (0/1/0) - CART champion, won at Nazareth, Portland
Adrian Fernandez (0/0/0) - CART runner-up, won at Rio, Surfer's Paradise
Buddy Lazier (1/0/1) - IRL Champion, won at Phoenix, Kentucky
Juan Montoya (1/0/0) - Indy 500 winner, Michigan 500 winner
Roberto Moreno (0/0/0) - Third in CART points, won at Cleveland

Olivier Beretta (0/1/0) - ALMS GTS champ, 8 wins (also won Daytona, Le Mans)
Rinaldo Capello (0/0/0) - ALMS Prototype runnerup, 5 wins
Paul Gentilozzi (2/0/0) - SCCA Trans-Am runner-up, three wins
Alan McNish (0/0/0) - ALMS Prototype champion, 5 wins
Brian Simo (0/1/1) - SCCA Trans-Am champion, three wins
James Weaver (0/0/3) - Grand-Am SportsRacer champion, 6 wins incl. Daytona

Greg Biffle (0/0/0) - NASCAR Craftsman Truck champ, five wins
Jeff Green (0/0/0) - NASCAR Busch Grand National champ, six wins
Kasey Kahne (0/0/0) - USAC Midget champ, 6 wins including Belleville Nat'ls
Frank Kimmel (0/0/1) - ARCA champion, six wins
Steve Kinser (13/1/4) - World of Outlaws champion, 10 "A" feature wins
Gary St. Amant(0/0/0) - ASA champion, three wins

Jeff Burton (0/0/0) - Second in Winston Cup points, four wins; and four in BGN
Dale Earnhardt (8/3/1) - Third in Winston Cup points, two wins; IROC champ
Bobby Labonte (0/2/0) - Winston Cup champion, 4 wins including Brickyard 400
Mark Martin (3/3/4) - Won at Martinsville; five BGN wins raised record to 45
Tony Stewart (4/0/0) - Fifth in Winston Cup, six wins was most in series
Rusty Wallace (3/2/2) - Four Winston Cup wins, leads in poles, laps led

Jeg Coughlin Jr (0/0/0) - NHRA Pro Stock champion, 10 wins
John Force (8/1/0) - NHRA Funny Car champion, his 10th; 11 wins
Clay Millican (0/0/0) - IHRA Top Fuel runner-up, rookie o/t year, 3 wins
Bob Panella (0/0/0) - NHRA Pro Stock Truck champ, five wins
Paul Romine (0/0/0) - IHRA Top Fuel champ, two wins
Gary Scelzi (2/1/0) - NHRA Top Fuel champion, nine wins

Laurie Cannister (0/0/0) - IHRA Pro Outlaw champion, four wins
Scott Dixon (0/0/0) - CART Indy Lights champion, six wins
Troy Herbst (0/0/0) - SCORE Class 1 champ, won Baja 2000, Baja 500, 1 more
Aaron Justus (0/0/0) - Formula 2000 champion, five wins, Oval champ
Jeff Kincaid (0/0/0) - CORR Pro Lite champ, 12 wins
Buddy Rice (0/0/0) - CART Toyota Atlantic champ, five wins