Sonoma, CA --- Luciano Gomide has fast established himself as the latest Brazilian superstar in motorsports by capturing rounds eight and nine of the United States Formula Three Championship Powered by Volkswagen at Sears Point Raceway. He has won the last five consecutive races in the series.

Round Eight – Qualifications

Gomide eased his way into his fourth consecutive pole position followed by Adam Andretti and George Frazier. All three drivers piloted a Dallara F300/VW. A six car field qualified for the race.

Round Eight – Race

Gomide lead all 16 laps of the 60 kilometer event followed by Andretti and Stuart Crow. Gomide’s quickest lap was 1:31.496 and an average speed of 99.151 MPH. His margin of victory was 39.86 sections. Crow maintained the championship points lead with 119 points. Andretti’s second place put him just 11 points behind. Stuart Crow was third in the only Ralt.

<pre> 1 Gomide Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 2 Andretti Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 3 Crow Ralt F3/2000/VW 16 laps 4 Weld Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 5 Frazier Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 6 Jenkins Dallara F399/VW 0 laps </pre> Round Nine – Qualifications

The young Brazilian again easily won the pole position by establishing a new track record of 1:29.651 or 101.192 MPH (besting a Formula Atlantic record). Andretti and Frazier again followed.

Round Nine – Race

Andretti beat Gomide off the start and lead after the first lap. Gomide passed Andretti at the beginning of lap two and lead the next 15 circuits and into Victory Lane for the fifth time this season. His quickest lap was 1:30.416 and he averaged 97.743 MPH. Andretti was second 16 seconds behind. Frazier was third. Andretti closed within 4 points of Crow in the point standings. <pre> 1 Gomide Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 2 Andretti Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 3 Frazier Dallara F300/VW 16 laps 4 Jenkins Dallara F300/VW 15 laps 5 Crow Ralt F3/2000/VW 0 laps Weld Dallara F399/VW DNS

POINT STANDINGS (thru 9 Rounds):

1 Stuart Crow 127 points 2 Adam Andretti 123 points 3 Luciano Gomide 105 points 4 George Frazier 97 points 5 Skip Weld 79 points 6 Paul Jenkins 36 points 7 Robert Sollenskog 15 points 8 David Rosenblum 6 points