Daniel Abt competes as Volkswagen Junior in Formula 3 in 2010

Wolfsburg (27 November 2009). The next stepping-stone in Daniel Abt's career is fixed: The ADAC Formula Masters Champion moves up to the ATS Formula 3 Cup with Volkswagen. In 2010 the 16-year-old youngster from Kempten drives a Volkswagen Dallara for the Van Amersfoort Racing team which claimed the top-two positions in the championship this season with Laurens Vanthoor and Stef Dusseldorp. Abt joins the brand's motorsport support programme as Volkswagen Junior.

"We are delighted to welcome Daniel into the Volkswagen family," says Volkswagen Motorsport Director Kris Nissen. "He has already proved his talent impressively this year by winning the Volkswagen powered ADAC Formula Masters title so convincingly. We now look forward to making the next step in his career together." Daniel Abt recorded a total of eight victories during the season on the way to winning the "star of tomorrow" series at the penultimate race weekend and gathered his first experience of the ATS Formula 3 Cup with a guest start at the finale.

Daniel eagerly awaits the new season. "Christmas is in November for me this year," says the technical college student delightedly. "Formula 3 is the perfect step after Formula Masters to learn more and to attract attention. I'm very proud to be able to make this step with Volkswagen and last year's championship winning team," says Daniel Abt. "My thanks go to Volkswagen Motorsport. I'll do everything possible to repay the trust put in me with a strong performances."

Support of young motorsport talents has traditionally held great value for Volkswagen. With his inclusion as Volkswagen Junior Daniel Abt follows in the footsteps of talents like Rene Rast or Jimmy Johansson. Rast won the ADAC Volkswagen Polo Cup in 2005 and celebrated winning the Porsche Carrera Cup in 2008 with the support of Volkswagen. Johansson won the "touring car school" in the 2006 season and now competes, for example, for Volkswagen in the 24-hour race at the Nurburgring.

Volkswagen had its most successful year in 2009 since its comeback as engine supplier in 2007 season: Laurens Vanthoor won the ATS Formula 3 Cup, Daniel Ricciardo the British Formula 3 Championship and Edoardo Mortara the unofficial world championship for Formula 3 in Macau.

-credit: vw