F1

Kobayashi's sports helmet design by Linkin Park on auction for Japan aid

598 views

Global Motorsport Media

ONLINE AUCTION OF ONE-OFF HELMET TO BOOST JAPANESE AID FROM MUSIC FOR RELIEF


Sauber F1 Team driver Kamui Kobayashi will be lining up on the Sao Paulo grid for the FIA Formula One World Championship final wearing a special helmet design in a good cause. An encounter with rock band Linkin Park in Singapore sparked the idea for a helmet auction to support aid for Japan through the internationally renowned charity organisation Music for Relief, initiated by Linkin Park.

Kamui Kobayashi, Sauber F1 Team
Kamui Kobayashi, Sauber F1 Team

Photo by: xpb.cc

Since 2005, Music for Relief has raised more than five million US dollars for disaster victims and environmental projects. Of this, 700,000 dollars alone has been donated to Japan to help it deal with the consequences of the disasters that struck on 11th March this year.

Joe Hahn, producer and band member of Linkin Park, personally designed the unique helmet for Kamui Kobayashi. As the Japanese driver explains: "I've long been a fan of Linkin Park. I love their music and I'm impressed by the band's social commitment. I was thrilled to meet the musicians personally in the paddock when they were giving a concert at the Singapore Grand Prix.

We've been in touch since then and I'm really pleased that Joe Hahn has designed a helmet for me. I hope that we will be able to raise a lot of money for Music for Relief to help rebuild my country."

I hope that we will be able to raise a lot of money for Music for Relief

Kamui Kobayashi

Joe Hahn comments: "This was a fun opportunity to create something for Kamui while continuing our efforts to raise funds for Japan."

In Singapore, the band members were Paddock Club guests of the Good Smile Company, a personal sponsor of Kamui Kobayashi. The helmet - worth 3,500 euros even without its unique design - was provided by Arai Helmet Ltd.

The online auction opens this Thursday (09.00 hrs in Los Angeles/15.00 Sao Paulo/18.00 CET) at: http://bit.ly/kamuihelmet It ends on Monday, 19th December 2011 (14.00 hrs in Los Angeles/23.00 CET)

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F1
Tags hahn, kobayashi, linkin park

User photos

Evan_DeCiren
F1

Evan_DeCiren

28 photos
colfox72
F1

colfox72

1 photos
EuroRacer
F1

EuroRacer

44 photos
gillfoto
F1

gillfoto

1 photos
akazoinho
F1

akazoinho

4 photos
Tim Holmes
F1

Tim Holmes

25 photos
jimmykwoods
F1

jimmykwoods

2 photos
nickmossdesign
F1

nickmossdesign

1 photos
Upload photo