F1

F1 gains expanded U. S. coverage

STAMFORD, Conn. (Sept. 6, 2000) -- Speedvision's coverage of the United States Grand Prix now will include five hours of live practice sessions, Robert Scanlon, Speedvision's executive producer and senior vice president -- programming and ...

STAMFORD, Conn. (Sept. 6, 2000) -- Speedvision's coverage of the United States Grand Prix now will include five hours of live practice sessions, Robert Scanlon, Speedvision's executive producer and senior vice president -- programming and production announced today.

"The inaugural U.S. Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway clearly represents the most important single race event in Speedvision's history," Scanlon said. "By adding five hours of practice, we're giving viewers the most comprehensive Grand Prix coverage available on television."

Speedvision will broadcast live practice sessions from Indianapolis Motor Speedway Sept. 22 starting at noon ET/9:00 a.m. PT and at 10:00 a.m ET/7:00 a.m PT Sept. 23. Additionally, Sept. 23rd qualifying coverage has been extended to two hours, beginning at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT.

The U.S. Grand Prix marks the return of the Formula One World Championship to the United States after a nine-year absence, and the Brickyard has sold out seating for the Sept. 24 race at its newly constructed road course. Speedvision's race coverage begins at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT.

In addition, viewers can participate in the Speedvision U.S. Grand Prix Fan Challenge Presented by Delphi by watching the network's telecast of the historic race. Viewers can look for four U.S. Grand Prix clues given during Speedvision's telecast of the race, with the grand prize winner earning a trip for two to next year's U.S. Grand Prix and an authentic Formula One driver's helmet. Secondary prizes include Formula One race car replicas. The grand prize winner and secondary winners will be selected from viewers who answer the trivia puzzle correctly.

Speedvision currently is available to nearly 28 million viewers. Cable or satellite subscribers not currently receiving Speedvision can contact DirecTV, Primestar, Dish Network or call 1-888-22Speed toll-free to request the network be added to their local cable provider.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F1
Tags TV

User photos

Tim Holmes
F1

Tim Holmes

25 photos
EuroRacer
F1

EuroRacer

38 photos
Evan_DeCiren
F1

Evan_DeCiren

27 photos
jimmykwoods
F1

jimmykwoods

2 photos
nickmossdesign
F1

nickmossdesign

1 photos
EricDebris
F1

EricDebris

411 photos
hanmerdesign
F1

hanmerdesign

7 photos
darkcloud154
F1

darkcloud154

22 photos
Upload photo