Countback rule under review

The two lap countback rule that comes into force when a race is red-flagged is under review after the confusion at the premature end of the Brazilian Grand Prix. Kimi Raikkonen was declared the winner from Giancarlo Fisichella but the FIA are ...

The two lap countback rule that comes into force when a race is red-flagged is under review after the confusion at the premature end of the Brazilian Grand Prix. Kimi Raikkonen was declared the winner from Giancarlo Fisichella but the FIA are investigating the decision.

Fisichella was possibly already on his 56th lap when the race was re-flagged, which means the countback to lap 54 would give him the win.

At a teams' meeting this week, it reportedly emerged that no-one was really sure why the two lap countback was applied to the Brazil situation. The rule was originally introduced so that an aggregate race result could be devised from a race that had been stopped and restarted.

However, the Brazilian GP was officially declared over 75% run and the race finished, which may have led to the countback being wrongly applied. Fisichella looks likely to be announced as the winner on Friday, after an investigation of the situation by the FIA.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Formula 1
Drivers Giancarlo Fisichella , Kimi Raikkonen