Rosenqvist secures pole for Spa opener

Felix Rosenqvist once again proved unstoppable in European Formula 3 qualifying, taking pole position for the opening race of the weekend at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Swede came to the fore towards the end of a first qualifying session that started in damp conditions, taking over eight tenths out of the previous best time set by Pietro Fittipaldi with a 2m10.173s to top a qualifying session for the seventh time in nine attempts in 2015.

Rosenqvist’s closest challenger was Prema teammate Jake Dennis, who moved up to second with a time 0.569s off the pace before moving to within 0.238s at the chequered flag.

Points leader Antonio Giovinazzi took third place for Carlin, albeit 0.791s off the pace, ahead of Fortec driver Fittipaldi, who will start inside the top 10 for the first time this season in fourth.

Brandon Maisano made it three Prema drivers in the top five with a late jump to fifth, narrowly ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Charles Leclerc in sixth, with Signature’s Alex Albon and top Mucke driver Santino Ferrucci sharing row four.

Red Bull junior Callum Ilott (Carlin) and Markus Pommer (Motopark) both enjoyed stints at the head of the timesheets earlier in the session, but were forced to be content with the final two slots in the top 10 when the dust settled on the session.

Qualifying results:

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
Felix Rosenqvist Prema Powerteam 2'10.173  
Jake Dennis Prema Powerteam 2'10.411 0.238
Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin 2'10.964 0.791
Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec 2'11.008 0.835
Brandon Maïsano Prema Powerteam 2'11.112 0.939
Charles Leclerc Van Amersfoort Racing 2'11.121 0.948
Alexander Albon Signature 2'11.172 0.999
Santino Ferrucci Mucke Motorsport 2'11.224 1.051
Callum Ilott Carlin 2'11.240 1.067
10  Markus Pommer Motopark 2'11.244 1.071
11  George Russell Carlin 2'11.297 1.124
12  Mikkel Jensen Mucke Motorsport 2'11.348 1.175
13  Raoul Hyman West-Tec 2'11.370 1.197
14  Lance Stroll Prema Powerteam 2'11.397 1.224
15  Sam MacLeod Motopark 2'11.459 1.286
16  Alessio Lorandi Van Amersfoort Racing 2'11.465 1.292
17  Ryan Tveter Carlin 2'11.547 1.374
18  Maximlian Gunther Mucke Motorsport 2'11.716 1.543
19  Gustavo Menezes Carlin 2'11.742 1.569
20  Sergio Sette Camara Motopark 2'11.802 1.629
21  Fabian Schiller West-Tec 2'12.060 1.887
22  Dorian Boccolacci Signature 2'12.103 1.930
23  Tatiana Calderon Carlin 2'12.216 2.043
24  Nabil Jeffri Motopark 2'12.394 2.221
25  Michele Beretta Mucke Motorsport 2'12.470 2.297
26  Matthew Solomon Double R Racing 2'12.528 2.355
27  Matt Rao Fortec 2'12.588 2.415
28  Kang Ling Mucke Motorsport 2'12.750 2.577
29  Nicolas Pohler Double R Racing 2'12.772 2.599
30  Arjun Maini Van Amersfoort Racing 2'13.051 2.878
31  Martin Cao Fortec 2'13.344 3.171
32  Mahaveer Raghunathan Motopark 2'13.426 3.253
33  Julio Moreno T-Sport 2'18.066 7.893

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series F3 Europe
Event Spa-Francorchamps
Track Spa-Francorchamps
Drivers Felix Rosenqvist , Antonio Giovinazzi , Jake Dennis
Teams Prema Powerteam
Article type Qualifying report