24-hour race Nurburgring
Dream Premiere: One-two for the new Volkswagen Scirocco GT24

The new Volkswagen Scirocco GT24 celebrated its race premiere with a one-two in class at a well-attended 24-hour race at the Nurburgring. In front of a crowd of about 220,000 spectators the brace of 325 hp Sport-Coupes driven by Jimmy Johansson (S), Florian Gruber (D), Thomas Mutsch (D) and Hans-Joachim Stuck (A) and Carlos Sainz (E), Giniel de Villiers (RSA), Dieter Depping (D) and again Hans-Joachim Stuck (A) claimed first and second positions in the well-represented class for cars with two-litre turbo engines. In a field of 219 teams they finished in 11th and 15th overall. The third factory entered Coupe of Dr Ulrich Hackenberg (D), Bernd Ostmann (D), Matthias Malmedie (D) and Altfrid Heger (D) completed the first sporting success of the new Scirocco with fifth position in class and 32nd overall.

ADAC Formula Masters powered by Volkswagen
Burkhard Maring celebrates twin victories

Burkhard Maring (D) was unbeatable during the second ADAC Formula Masters powered by Volkswagen race weekend. The 18-year old technology student claimed two wins in the season's third and fourth races held during the weekend of the 24-hour marathon around the Nurburgring. In the first "star of tomorrow" race for budding single-seater stars he won from the three-year younger Kevin Magnussen from Denmark and the Austrian Klaus Bachler (16-years old). In the second race, series newcomer Magnussen had to give best to Maring once again. Nineteen-year old Philip Wulbusch (D) was third.

ATS Formula 3 Cup
Vanthoor claims second podium of the season

Laurens Vanthoor celebrated his second podium finish with Volkswagen in 2008 in the fifth and sixth races of the ATS Formula 3 Cup season. The young Belgian started Saturday's race from second position which he held all the way to the flag. The 17-year old driver from the Van Ammersfoort team started from a promising sixth position on the grid, but was involved in an early collision and retired after one lap. Team mate Rahel Frey (CH) narrowly missed collecting more championship points after finishing ninth and eleventh.

Polo-Cup South Africa
Bonafede and Mortimer share Polo-Cup wins in Pretoria

Gennaro Bonafede and Jared Mortimer are the winners of the two South African Polo-Cup races at the Zwartkops Raceway. Bonafede, who only started the race from fifth position on the grid, fought his way to the front during the 15 lap opening race and left Devin Robertson and Kieren Quarmby to pick up second and third places respectively. Mortimer won the race in the afternoon from Bryan Morgan and Mathew Hodges.

Formula Volkswagen South Africa
Trio dominate Formula Volkswagen at the Zwartkops Raceway

Michael Stephen celebrated a dominant start-to-finish victory in the Formula Volkswagen South Africa race. Stephen started from pole position and won by 1.109 seconds from Gavin Cronje and Cristiano Morgado after 15 laps. The second-place finisher from race one turned the tables in race two: Cronje won from Michael Stephen. Morgado had to settle for third place again.

Volkswagen Endurance Cup
Evers and van Doorn victorious in Zolder

The second race of the Volkswagen Endurance Cup season was won by Jan Evers and Henry van Doorn. The duo won by 23 seconds after 115 laps from their closest rivals Meijliink/Timmermans/Timmermans in the four-hour race held in Zolder, Belgium. Winners of the opening race of the season Ronald Morien and Ferry Duivenvoorde completed the podium and defended their championship lead from new second place pair Evers/van Doorn. Thirty-nine of the 41 teams competing in the popular Dutch Volkswagen one-make cup series saw the chequered flag.

Coming up next...

26 May
rounds 3 and 4 of the Volkswagen Racing Cup in Rockingham (GB)

31 May - 1 June
rounds 5 and 6 of the Formula 3 Euro Series in Pau (F)

31 May - 1 June
rounds 5 and 6 of the JTCC in Karlskoga (S)

-credit: www.volkswagen-motorsport.info