Today Team Essex -- four time teams' winner in the Danish Touringcar Championship -- revealed its mount for the coming season, a brand-new Porsche RS Spyder at its arhus head quarters in Denmark.

Team Essex will be running the car in the 2008 Le Mans Series in the LMP2 Class, and it will be driven by 1990 Le Mans winner John Nielsen and former three times Danish Touringcar Champion and 2007 Larbre Aston Martin pilot, Casper Elgaard.

"Casper will be our lead driver next year," team owner Peter Halvorsen said at the presentation. "He will be the driver, who will be spending most of the time in the cockpit of the car, as John Nielsen will be having a dual function as both a driver and our team manager, and he will need to be focusing on race tactics and strategies."

Team Essex is planning a total of four tests before the season starts, but apart from testing its own mount Casper Elgaard and John Nielsen will also be taking part in a 24 hour test arranged by the Porsche factory.

Although the foundation of Team Essex has been six successful years of racing in the Danish Touringcar Championship it has had several forays in the international prototype racing with Lister and Zytek. In 2005 the team won the Spa 1000 km round with the Zytek 04S car.