The No. 7 Team Peugeot Total 908 of Nicolas Minassian and Marc Gene will start in pole position for the 1000km of Silverstone, the fifth round of the Le Mans Series. Minassian set a 1m 31.692s lap on his first flying lap around the Grand Prix circuit during the 20-minute qualifying session and remained fastest throughout.

The sister No. 8 Team Peugeot Total 908 car, driven by Pedro Lamy, was just over fourth tenths behind to qualify in second place although did not put the leading Peugeot under too much pressure during the session and completed only four laps.

The No. 15 Charouz Racing Lola of Stefan Mucke put in a strong performance to qualify in third position in the LMP1 class before suffering a spin midway round his final lap, with the No. 12 Courage Competition LC70 of Jonathan Cochet fourth in LMP1.

Pescarolo Sport ran strongly in the free practice sessions but Emmanuel Collard could only manage sixth place in qualifying in the No. 16 Pescarolo Judd. Collard ran two laps in the low 1m 36s but was unable to improve in the short session.

The No. 46 Team LNT Zytek of Tom Kimber-Smith qualified in pole position in the LMP2 class, and fourth overall, with a 1m 35.149s lap, with Thomas Erdos in the championship-leading No. 25 RML MG Lola just over half a second behind.

The GT1 class was headed by the No. 59 Team Modena Aston Martin DB9 of Antonio Garcia, which was one second ahead of the chasing pack of the No. 55 Team Oreca Saleen of Soheil Ayari, No. 50 AMR Larbre of Christophe Bouchut and No. 72 Alphand Aventures of Oliver Gavin who qualified all within a quarter of a second of each other.

Fastest in the GT2 class was the No. 96 Virgo Motorsport Ferrari F430GT of Robert Bell who put in a single flying lap of 1m 49.730s to head the class by over a second from the No. 76 Imsa Performance Porsche 997 GT3 RSR of Richard Lietz in second, which was fractionally ahead of the No. 94 Speedy Racing Team Spyker C8 Spyder of Johnny Kane

The 1000km of Silverstone starts at 12noon local time on Sunday and is scheduled to run for 196 laps around the 5.141km circuit.