Greaves Motorsport Retains Tom Kimber-Smith For 2012

Greaves Motorsport press release

Greaves Motorsport is pleased to announce that they have signed 2011 Le Mans Series Driver’s Champion, Tom Kimber-Smith, for the 2012 season. Tom will drive in the team’s confirmed programme in next year’s European Le Mans Series and he will support the entry in the FIA World Endurance Championship.

#41 Greaves Motorsport Zytek Z11SN - Nissan: Karim Ojjeh, Tom Kimber-Smith, Olivier Lombard
#41 Greaves Motorsport Zytek Z11SN - Nissan: Karim Ojjeh, Tom Kimber-Smith, Olivier Lombard

Photo by: Daniel James Smith

Tom Kimber-Smith will partner Alex Brundle in the 2012 European Le Mans Series, with the third driver to be announced in due course. They will drive a Nissan powered Zytek prototype, similar to the car that was so successful for the team in 2011. He will also be a key member of the team’s test programme for both projects in the early part of the season. Greaves Motorsport considers this to be an essential role in view of the substantial changes to the technical regulations introduced for the 2012 season.

Greaves Motorsport’s Team Manager, Jacob Greaves, commented. “The whole team is delighted that we are able to continue our partnership with Tom into 2012. His contribution to the team and its successes in 2011 has been second to none. We are confident that with drivers of the calibre of Tom and Alex Brundle on the roster driving our Zytek Nissan, that we are well placed to achieve our potential in 2012.”

Tom Kimber-Smith said of the announcement, “I am excited to continue racing with Greaves Motorsport next season. The team has done a fantastic job in preparing a fast and reliable car in 2011. The combination of Nissan, Zytek and Dunlop was a major part of the success that we enjoyed during the year. I am really looking forward to a similar programme for the 2012 season.”

Tom Kimber-Smith - Endurance Racing Career Highlights

2011 :

LM P2 winner, Le Mans 24 Hours
Le Mans Series LM P2 Drivers Champion (3 victories)
Awarded Woolf Barnato Trophy by the British Racing Drivers’ Club
Awarded Driver of the Year by the Guild of Motoring Writers

2007 :

Le Mans Series Silverstone, 2nd in class and pole position

2006 :

LM GT2 winner, Le Mans 24 Hours
British GT Championship - 2nd overall (4 victories)

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series European Le Mans
Drivers James Smith , Tom Kimber-Smith , Karim Ojjeh , Jacob Greaves , Olivier Lombard , Alex Brundle
Teams Greaves Motorsport
Tags greaves motorsport, kimber-smith, lms