Dakar Rally 2011
Volkswagen enters Race Touareg 3 in the Dakar Rally 2011

New shell, proven core: Volkswagen develops an evolution model of the Race Touareg for the Dakar Rally 2011 in South America. The Wolfsburg based automobile manufacturer will enter four Race Touareg 3 with radically reworked aerodynamics in the desert classic through Argentina and Chile in January 2011. Like the Touareg ll from the production line the cross country rally prototype possesses its excellent handling characteristics with a more sporting outer skin. Hidden beneath is proven and extremely successful technology: Both the near 300 hp TDI power plant and also the suspension and chassis remain untouched.

Fredrik Ekblom and Patrik Olsson take important championship points

Fredrik Ekblom scored a brace of fourth places and claimed 24 championship points in the process during the fifth race weekend of the Swedish Touring Car Championship (STCC) at Falkenberg. As a result, Ekblom holds third place in the standings after four of the nine races. His team mate Patrik Olsson moved up from 14th position in the opening race to eighth place in the second race and clinched four points. Both Swedes drive a Volkswagen Scirocco CNG fielded by the Biogas.se. team.

Porsche Supercup
Rene Rast second at Silverstone

Volkswagen Junior Rene Rast finished second in the Porsche Supercup race held as part of the Formula 1 race support programme at Silverstone. Rast, who started the race from second on the grid, was only beaten by local matador Nick Tandy. The German, who has already celebrated four victories this season, holds a commanding lead of 16 points in the championship standings.

Volkswagen Endurance Cup
First victory for Morien Match

The Morien Match team with drivers Ronald Morien and Ferry Duivenvoorde dominated the fourth round of the Volkswagen Endurance Cup. The champion from the 2008 season used the neutralisation phases of the five hour race in Assen, Holland perfectly for the mandatory driver changes. The winner of the first three races, team Oranjedak/DB Motorsport, finished second only four seconds behind and ahead of Team United with Jaap van Lagen and Edgar van der Ende.

Coming up:

16-18 July 2010  races 7 and 8 ATS Formula 3 Cup at Assen (NL)

16-18 July 2010 races 13 to 15 British Formula 3 Championship at Rockingham(GB)
16-18 July 2010 races 10 to 12 ADAC Formula Masters at Assen (NL)
16-18 July 2010 races 5 and 6 Volkswagen Racing Cup at Rockingham (GB)
16-18 July 2010 race 2 Polo Cup India at Coimbatore (IND)

-source: vw