Harvick to Donate Prize Money to Victory Junction Gang Camp

CONCORD, NC (May 16, 2009) -- Shell-Pennzoil's own Kevin Harvick emerged victorious in the second annual Pennzoil Victory Challenge held on the front stretch of Lowe's Motor Speedway prior to Saturday's All-Star events. Harvick claimed the $10,000 prize which will be donated to his charity of choice, the Victory Junction Gang Camp.

A competition that pits some of NASCAR's top drivers against one another, the Pennzoil Victory Challenge was created to showcase each driver's best celebratory skills. This year's format allowed the drivers a longer freestyle demonstration without a specific course to run. Each driver took their turn in identically prepared Jeff Gordon Racing School stock cars and had 30 seconds to complete their respective runs.

An all-star line-up that included Shell-Pennzoil driver Kevin Harvick, defending Pennzoil Victory Challenge champion Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, four-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon and former Cup Series champion Darrell Waltrip, the Pennzoil Victory Challenge proved once again to be exciting and a fan favorite.

A new facet to the 2009 Challenge included a panel of celebrity judges featuring 16-time World Wrestling Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair, NFL All-Pro wide receiver Randy Moss, SPEED's own Jimmy Spencer, NASCAR spokesperson Kevin Costner plus Eddie Montgomery and Troy Gentry of the award-winning country music group - Montgomery Gentry.

Harvick was the second driver to take to the course and earned 58 out of a total of 60 possible points claiming this year's trophy.

"I knew I either needed to have a continuous burnout going all the way to turn one or have it stop so the tires would come apart like they did," said Harvick. "Everybody likes to watch a good tire blow out."

"This is such a fun event and I want to thank Pennzoil for putting it on," continued Harvick. "It's cool to just get to go out there and let it loose. I hope the fans really enjoyed it because this is more for them than anybody."

Kasey Kahne claimed the second position with Clint Bowyer coming in third. Four-time champion Jeff Gordon finished fourth with last year's winner Gregg Biffle rounding out the top-five. Kyle Busch and Darrell Waltrip were both disqualified after Waltrip went off course and Busch knocked down the Pennzoil pillars along the course, much to the delight of the enthusiastic crowd.

"We were so thrilled to have Kevin Harvick win this year's event," commented Troy Chapman, Director of Marketing, Pennzoil. "With Harvick representing the brand he really wanted to win and spent a lot of time preparing for the competition."

"We also wanted to implement some changes from the inaugural challenge and add some new elements to make it more fan-friendly," continued Chapman. "This included added a celebrity panel of judges along with a longer free-style portion to the competition. After the last car finished the competition we were already talking about how to make next year's event even better.

"We know it take a clean-running engine to make it to Victory Lane and that's why Pennzoil is the sponsor of the Pennzoil Victory Challenge."

-credit: pennzoil