Trenker Leads his Moto Category on 2005 UAE Desert Challenge

Great results achieves by Sadafco DHL TT Racing & Top UAE Moto entrant German Moto rider Tim Trenker, he leads his marathon category - over 450 CC after the first leg of 2005 UAE Desert Challenge.

The leg start from the luxury Emirates Palace Hotel in Abu Dhabi, the capital of UAE towards to Moreeb hill with 369 km leg contains 282 km special stage.

Trenker finishes the leg 27 minutes behind new overall leader Frenchman Cyril Despres, who won Desert Challenge three times before. Trenker jump from forty-seventh position on the start of the leg up to twelfth on the end of the leg, passing many bikes affront of him before arrive to the finish.

Trenker was happy one the end of the first leg and said: " I start the leg very carefully and found problem with my new suspension setting, so when I reach the service point, I change the setting to avoid up and down hill problem, I did not push hard on my new engine that's not have enough test before the event, and my performance getting better on the second half of the special stage.

Tim Trenker, TT Racing rider sponsored by Sadafco (Saudia Milk) & number one world courier service company DHL, Mobil & MG Motorsport.

Dakar 2005 winner Frenchman Cyril Despres won the leg to lead the rally ahead of his country home & teammate David Casteu by 7:15 min, world championship leader Spaniard Marc Coma finishes third ahead of 2004 world champion Norwegian Pal Andres Ullevalseter & the UAE's Khaled Khamis.

On Cars, 8 times Dakar winner Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel won the leg ahead of 2001 Rally of Egypt winner Spaniard Jose Luis Monterde, with Peterhansel teammate & 2005 Baja Aragon winner Spaniard Juan Roma finishes third ahead of UAE's Yehia Belhili & Britain Mark Powell.

<pre> 2005 UAE Desert Challenge - Unofficial Classification:

Moto: 1. Cyril Despres (F) KTM 660 Rally 2:59:11 hrs 2. David Casteu (F) KTM 660 Rally +7:15 min 3. Marc Coma (E) KTM 660 Rally +9:35 min 4. Pal Andres Ullevalseter (N) KTM 660 Rally +14:40 min 5. Khaled Khamis (UAE) Honda XR 650 R +17:07 min 12. Tim Trenker (D) KTM 660 Rally Replica +27:15 min

Auto: 1. Stephane Peterhansel, Jean Paul Cottret (F,F) Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution MPR 2:36:31 hrs 2. Jose Luis Monterde, Tiziano Siviero (E,I) BMW X5 RR +25:39 min 3. Juan Roma, Henry Magne (E,F) Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution MPR +29:35 min 4. H=Yehia Belhili, Khaled Al-Kendi (UAE,UAE) Chevrolet Pick Up +42:33 min 5. Mark Powell, Tom Ansell (GB,AUS) Land Rover 110 +46:53 min