After two long days of administrative and technical checks, the start of the 13th edition of Pharaons Rally will start tomorrow morning. The traditional start in front of the Giza Pyramids will be the beginning of the first stage between the dunes of El Rammak for the last leg of the FIA Cross Country Rally World Cup and the FIM Cross Country Rally World Championship.

The last arrangements were done in cars and bikes, and the burocracy of the administrative and technical checks are finished. Drivers and riders are now ready, only a few hours to start the 13th edition of Pharaons Rally 2010, the last leg of the FIA Cross Country World Cup and the FIM Cross Country World Country.

Tonight, 116 crews have gone through the scrutineering, the first step of the rally, at the Intercontinental Hotel of Giza Pyramids and tomorrow, they will all attend to the start at the monumental Giza Pyramids for the official start of Pharaons Rally.

74 bikes and 11 quads were verified, while 31 car crews have completed the process. Also, 10 cars join Pharaons Classic this year, the beautiful regularity formula that engages these crews to the rally spirit and another 13 teams in the raid category.

The attention will be focused most of all on Marc Coma (KTM690) and Francisco "Chaleco" Lopez (Aprilia 450), winners of World Championship races in 2010. The first rider is only two points away from the World Title in Open Class and the second, looking to repeat the amazing victory in Tunisia, in front of Marc Coma.

But there are also other important names among the competitors of Pharaons 2010: Team Orlen composed by Jakub Przygonski, Jacek Czachor and Marek Dabrowski (KTM), Portuguese Helder Rodriguez (Yamaha), Spanish Gerard Farres (Aprilia) and Joan Barreda (KTM), Guatemala's rider Francisco Arredondo (Aprilia) and another Chilean rider, Jaime Prohens.

Also, Italian riders will not attend as spectators, mostly Aprilia's Alex Zanotti and Matteo Graziani, that will fight for high positions in the standings. Same for Ivan Boano (Beta) and Pierfranco Muraglia (Beta). In quads, the battle will be strong with riders that are heading the world classification, Rafal Sonik and Dmitri Pavlov, and also, the winner of last Dakar, Argentinean rider Marcos Patronelli.

In cars, the battle will be marked by Jean Louis Schlesser (Buggy Schlesser) and Eric Vigouroux (Chevrolet Trophy-Truck) in the two wheel drive category. Loyal competitors of Pharaons will participate of this fight on their Wildcat Bowlers will be last year's winner, Jerome Pelichet, and the second place overall, Roberto Tonetti.

There will also be a second Schlesser Buggy driven by Francois Lethier, Maurizio Traglio in his Nissan Pathfinder and Michele de Nora in his Toyota VDJ200.

Everything is set up for the impressive start in the Egyptian desert that will begin tomorrow with the first stage that will take competitors to El Rammak. A transfer to leave Cairo's traffic followed by the first special of Pharaons 2010, 366 km to warm things up right away.

-source: pharaons