Vauxhall has confirmed its participation in the 2004 Green Flag MSA British Touring Car Championship, an unrivalled sixteenth consecutive year that the Luton-based manufacturer has competed in the series.

Full details of the VX Racing entry will be announced at a later date, including drivers and race car. Vauxhall's race team, Triple Eight, are running tests over the winter with both the championship winning Astra Coupe and Vectra.

Next year's BTCC Championship includes sweeping changes to the regulations including the removal of mandatory pit-stops and increasing the number of races from two to three. However, VX Racing is confident it will still be at the head of the grid.

Kevin Wale, Managing Director of Vauxhall Motors, explained the reason for continued participation in the BTCC. "Vauxhall has a long motorsport heritage and with the BTCC being the premium motorsport series in the UK, it is the best way for us to showcase Vauxhall within a racing environment. We have been enjoying fantastic successes in the in the championship in recent years and our aim is to carry this on in 2004."

Mike Nicholson, Vauxhall Racing Operations Manager, adds: "We're really looking forward to a highly competitive and exciting field to race against next year. The ETCC cars, while technically different, should be extremely competitive, and it will be interesting to see how they respond to the success ballast formula. The new rules put a completely different perspective on strategy, but I have every confidence that VX Racing will continue to be competitive, albeit with a serious fight on our hands, which we're relishing taking on."

This year, VX Racing clinched the manufacturers', team, and drivers' titles in the Green Flag MSA British Touring Car Championship for an unprecedented third year in a row. The manufacturers' and team titles came at the penultimate race weekend at Donington, with VX Racing clinching four podium finishes to secure victory in the two championships. Yvan Muller then completed the triple for Vauxhall by lifting his first drivers' championship trophy at Oulton Park, after six years of competing in the BTCC.