Honda's Matt Neal took victory in the final round of the Green Flag MSA British Touring Car Championship at Oulton Park today (Sunday) - a race that saw Collard Racing's Rob Collard crowned Hilton Independents Trophy Champion.

Neal took the lead of the race during the mandatory tyre change pit stops to finish ahead of newly-crowned provisional champion, Vauxhall's Yvan Muller.

Muller's team-mate James Thompson, the outgoing champion, had led the race from pole position but retired before half distance.

Gareth Howell, in Team Dynamics' Vauxhall Astra Coupe, took Hilton Independents Trophy honours, but the title - provisionally - fell the way to an emotional Rob Collard.

Team Varta's Tom Boardman, in a Peugeot 307, took victory in the Production class ahead of newly-crowned provisional champion, Barwell Motorsport's Luke Hines.