Later this week, TOCA will be releasing the entry list for the BTCC this season. It is expected to have three-car entries from Ford, Honda and Vauxhall, with independent entries from Matt Neal, Lee Brookes and Colin Blair, and around 5 Class B entries.

Rydell inks contract with Ford

Rickard Rydell has finally signed his contract with Ford for this season. "After six years with Volvo I am really looking forward to a new challenge with Ford" said Rydell.

Arena out of BTCC

Independent BTCC entry Arena, run by ex-Onyx boss Mike Earle, has put off plans to enter the Independent category of the BTCC due to a lack of sponsors. Earle said "When the Honda deaol fell through it left us in somewhat of a quandry. We spoke to Frank Williams, who was super-helpful as usual, but unfortunately time has run out of us".

Independents to get start money

In this years BTCC, entries in the Michelin Cup for Independents will get start money, free tyres, no entry fees and £10,000 to the champion. The start money is around £5,000 per meeting, and the whole package is worth around £90,000.

-- Stephen M Baines