Ingolstadt, 07 August 2005
Motorsport Newsletter 14/2005

Audi driver Ekstrom retakes DTM lead

With his second victory of the season, achieved in difficult weather conditions, Audi driver Mattias Ekstrom re-captured the lead in the overall standings at the Nurburgring. After seven of eleven races, the Swede from Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline now has a one-point advantage again over the runner-up, Gary Paffett. The Dane Tom Kristensen, who finished in second place, completed Audi's one-two victory. Allan McNish -- finishing in sixth place -- scored points for the fourth time in a row, thus helping Audi to further expand its lead in the DTM manufacturers' standings. Martin Tomczyk was in the points as well, yet after his second tyre change, he drove across the white line at the pit lane exit, which earned him a drive-through penalty. Yet again, the best driver of a car from last year was Christian Abt, who crossed the finish line in tenth place in the Audi A4 DTM entered by Audi Sport Team Joest.

Second victory for Fredrik Ekblom in Sweden

Not only at the Nurburgring, the Audi drivers were successful under difficult weather circumstances this weekend: Fredrik Ekblom also achieved his second win in this year's Swedish Touring Car Championship (STCC) in pouring rain at Knutstorp. After his victory in the second qualification heat, he clinched a strong fourth place in the finale reducing the gap to the series' leader.

News from the Audi brand group

SEAT 1-2 victory

At Snetterton, SEAT celebrated its first double victory in the 2005 British Touring Car Championship (BTCC). In the third race of the day, Jason Plato took victory ahead of his young team-mate James Pickford who clinched his first BTCC podium result. The reigning champion of the British SEAT Leon Supercopa had already shone in the first heat: He moved through the field from 14th position on the grid to sixth place.

SEAT Leon Supercopa continues to be exciting

Supercopa: After the races at the Nurburgring the SEAT Leon Supercopa continues to be exciting. Thomas Marschall and Florian Gruber remain separated by only one point. As the two hottest title competitors only collected points, Bastian Kolmsee and Daniel Bauer won the races.