Muller crowned British Touring Car Champion at Oulton Park

Vauxhall's Yvan Muller has provisionally been crowned the new Green Flag MSA British Touring Car Champion after his third place finish in the first of today's (Sunday) final two championship rounds at Oulton Park, Cheshire, put him out of reach of Vauxhall team-mate James Thompson.

Thompson, the outgoing champion, won the race after starting from pole position, but Muller's third place means the Briton cannot catch him in this afternoon's final round of the championship.

Honda's Alan Morrison finished the race second between Thompson and Muller, with MG's Warren Hughes fourth.

Gareth Howell, in Team Dynamics' Vauxhall Astra Coupe, was the highest Hilton Independents Trophy finisher in seventh. But the title race will go down to the wire between Collard Racing's Rob Collard, Synchro Honda Racing' s James Kaye and GA Motorsports' Carl Breeze.

Alan Blencowe, in Barwell Motorsport's Honda Civic Type-R, took his first Production class victory of the season in 16th overall.