Trans-Am Series Champion Said nominated to 2002 AARWBA All-America Team.

CLEARWATER, Fla. (November 27, 2002) -- Boris Said, winner of the 2002 BFGoodrich Tires Cup as Trans-Am Series driving champion, has been nominated to the 12-member 2002 Auto Racing All-America team selected by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA).

Said, who makes his first career appearance on the AARWBA All-America ballot, is one of six nominees in the Road Racing division. Voting is being conducted by nearly 300 members of the motorsports press nationwide.

Two drivers from each of six categories will be named First Team All-Americans, and will be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet in January. The top vote-getter overall will receive the prestigious Jerry Titus Award.

Said (#33 Applied Computer Solutions Panoz Esperante/Ford Mustang) earned his nomination on the strength of eight race victories -- the third-highest single season total in Trans-Am history -- and 11 podium finishes in 12 events. His first victory of the season, at Mosport in May, was the first-ever for the Panoz Esperante in Trans-Am competition, and helped propel Panoz to the 2002 Trans-Am Series Manufacturers' Championship.

Said's victory in the season finale at Virginia International Raceway, meanwhile, was the 100th Trans-Am triumph for Ford in a history that dates to 1966. Said won the final five races of the Trans-Am Series season and finished the year with 359 points to easily outdistance series runner-up Butch Leitzinger of Tom Gloy Racing.

Joining Said as nominees in the Road Racing division are Ron Fellows and Tom Kristensen of the American LeMans Series, and Terry Borcheller, Didier Theys, and Chris Dyson of the Grand-Am Series. Kristensen and Dyson join Said as first-time nominees to the team.

-scca pro racing-