Weaver Named to All-America Auto Racing Team
Borcheller, Goad Earn Second-Team Honors; Bingham Receives Honorable Mention

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 10, 2001) -- Four drivers from the Rolex Sports Car Series will receive honors at the America Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) banquet next month. James Weaver became the series first driver to be named to the All-America Auto Racing Team, while Terry Borcheller and Doug Goad have been named to the All-America second team. Chris Bingham received an Honorable Mention from the AARWBA.

After earning four Honorable Mentions in the past, Weaver finally earned a spot on his first All-America team after winning his second-straight Rolex Series SportsRacing Prototype driver championship. He also led the Dyson Racing Team to its second-straight team owner championship.

In their first nomination to the AARWBA All-America team, Borcheller and Goad earned second team honors. Borcheller led JET Motorsports to three Rolex Series GT wins this season, in addition earning the world's first victory for a Lexus IS 300 by winning the Grand-Am Cup Street Stock Series Sport Touring race at Virginia International Speedway.

Goad was awarded second-team honors after winning two driver championships this season. He shared the Rolex Series American GT championship with co-driver Craig Conway and the Grand-Am Cup Super Grand Sport championship with co-driver Devon Powell. Goad won a combined total of 14 class races this season, including seven overall races.

Bingham earned an Honorable Mention after capturing the Rolex Series GTS driver championship with seven class victories. Last year's SRII driver champion, Larry Oberto, also received an Honorable Mention for his accomplishments in a European series.

The drivers will be recognized at the AARWBA banquet in Pomono, Calif., Jan. 12, 2002.

More information on the Rolex Sports Car Series is available online at www.grand-am.com.

AARWBA All-American Racing Teams

Open Wheel: Gil de Ferran, Sam Hornish
Stock Car: Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart
Road Racing: Paul Gentilozzi, James Weaver
Drag Racing: Kenny Bernstein, John Force
Short Track: Dave Darland, Danny Lasoski
At Large: Townsend Bell, Rob MacCachren

Open Wheel: Kenny Brack, Helio Castroneves
Stock Car: Ricky Rudd
Road Racing: Terry Borcheller, Emmanuele Pirro
Drag Racing: Warren Johnson, Larry Dixon
Short Track: Johnny Sauter, Jack Sprague
At Large: Doug Goad, Hoover Orsi

Open Wheel: Buddy Lazier, Scott Sharp
Stock Car: Dale Earnhardt Jr., Dale Jarrett
Road Racing: Chris Bingham, Larry Oberto
Drag Racing: Clay Millican
Short Track: Brendan Gaughan, Frank Kimmel
At Large: Mike Janis, Scott Taylor