HARRISBURG, NC - A talented group of drivers is being considered for the third annual Economaki Champion of Champions Award, presented by Rockett Brand Racing Fuel and America's Weekly Motorsport Authority, National Speed Sport News.

The field of 25 contenders quickly narrows to 10 finalists, who will be profiled in the November 30th issue of National Speed Sport News.

This year's winner will be announced on Thursday, December 1st, at 4:00 p.m., at the18th Annual Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Orlando, Florida. The proceedings will take place at the National Speed Sport News booth, numbers 3515 & 3517, at the Orange County Convention Center.

World of Outlaws Champion Steve Kinser was crowned the 2004 Economaki Champion of Champions Award, now in its third year. The winner this year will be featured in National Speed Sport News' annual year-end issue, December 21st.

"The criteria for our selection are very demanding," explained Jim Savas, publisher of National Speed Sport News. "The Economaki Champion of Champions must have earned a 2005 championship racing in North America, and served the motorsports industry well; in other words, the driver must excel both on and off the track."

The contenders:

Kenny Adams, United Sprint Car Series
Greg Anderson, NHRA Pro Stock
Max Angelelli, Grand Am Road Racing Series
Frank Biela, American Le Mans Series
Sebastien Bourdais, Champ Car World Series
Damion Gardner, USAC-CRA Sprint Car Series
Klaus Graf, Trans-Am
Levi Jones, USAC National Sprint Car Series
Chad Kemenah, All Star Circuit of Champions
Frank Kimmel, ARCA RE/MAX Series
Steve Kinser, World of Outlaws Sprint Series
Clay Millican, IHRA Top Fuel
Billy Moyer, World of Outlaws Late Model Series
Ted Musgrave, Craftsman Truck Series
Emanuele Pirro, American Le Mans Series
Fred Rahmer, Open-Wheel
Gary Scelzi, NHRA Funny Car
Tony Schumacher, NHRA Top Fuel
Dave Steele, USAC Silver Crown
Tony Stewart, NASCAR Nextel Cup Series
Wayne Taylor, Grand Am
Martin Truex, Jr., NASCAR Busch Series
Dan Wheldon, Indy Racing League
Josh Wise, USAC National Midget Series
Gary Wright, American Sprint Car Series

"It is a real honor for Rockett Brand Racing Fuel to be involved in this important award," said Jack Day, president of Rockett Brand. "The winner of the Economaki Champion of Champions deserves this special recognition, because he's a champion to all of us in racing."

With more than 50 years of motorsports knowledge and experience, Rockett Brand Racing Fuel, a privately held company, specializes in performance racing fuel formulation. Every gallon of Rockett Brand 100, 111, 114 and 118 octane gasoline has been developed to deliver unbeatable performance advantages and unwavering consistency born from a continuing commitment to be the world's best performing racing fuel. For additional information call: 1-800-345-0076 or visit

Since 1934, National Speed Sport News has been the authoritative voice of motorsports, providing race coverage that is timely, accurate and colorful. Edited since 1950 by the legendary Chris Economaki, and written by some of racing's most talented reporters and columnists, National Speed Sport News covers every series, every track, every week. The newspaper is the must-read for serious fans, drivers, crew members and industry leaders alike. National Speed Sport News is the only weekly motorsports publication on Library of Congress microfilm.