Six drivers aim for the title in the Auto GP grand finale

Valsecchi, Leo and Cipriani to race in Monza

Auto GP is ready for a thrilling championship finale in Monza. After five events and ten races the maths are keeping six drivers in contention for the title. With 19 points up for grabs in the Italian weekend, the list of possible winners goes from Romain Grosjean, Series leader with 42 points, to Carlos Iaconelli, in sixth place 18 points adrift.

Obviously, given his impressive streak of three wins and two podiums, the Frenchman is the front-runner of the group but putting his seal on the Championship won't be an easy task. His biggest rival, Edoardo Piscopo, is just one point adrift thanks to a very consistent season, and in his home race he will have an additional boost from supporters and fans. This could help him clinching his first 2011 win, making things more difficult for Grosjean.

Behind them, Duncan Tappy is in third place. The brit collected 32 points thanks to two podium finishes and some good placings, and with a ten points gap to the leader he can still hope to hit the big target. Besides this, he can be sure that he will have the same car as the pair in front, as he's also racing for DAMS, that already clinched the 2010 teams crown.

For the drivers behind them, the championship hopes are more feeble because the gap becomes bigger, but they will try as hard as they can: Jan Charouz, 4th with 28 points, arrives in Monza boosted by the Navarra Race 2 podium, the third this season. He is ahead of Luca Filippi, that in his home race hopes to get the same great shape he had at the start in Brno, and Carlos Iaconelli: the Brazilian driver already won three times in the Sprint Race, but to keep his championship hopes alive this won't be enough in Monza: this time he will have to win also Race 1, posting the pole position and also the fastest lap of both races.

Besides this, the last Auto GP event will also see a very interesting debut: Davide Valsecchi, the current GP2 Asia champion and GP2 Main Series driver, will be on the grid with a car fielded by RP Motorsport. Also Federico Leo will be back in the championship, again with Trident Racing like he did in Imola, while Durango will field a second car for Giuseppe Cipriani.

-source: autogp