2010 Atlantic Championship Series-Sanctioned Test Set for Jan. 22-24 at Sebring

BROWNSBURG, Ind. (December 17, 2009) - The first series-sanctioned on-track activity for the 2010 Cooper Tires Presents The Atlantic Championship Powered by Mazda is set for Sebring International Raceway from January 22-24, series officials announced today.

Atlantic testing at Sebring is part of a three-day test session that will include other IMSA-sanctioned series, including Star Mazda, the GT3 Challenge and Prototype Lights. Each day of the weekend test will include two on-track sessions for each series. Atlantic testing runs from 8:55 to 9:35 a.m. ET and 1:40 to 2:40 pm ET on Friday, January 22; 8:00 to 8:40 a.m. ET and 12:25 to 1:25 p.m. ET on Saturday, January 23; and 11:15 to 11:55 a.m. ET and 4:10 to 5:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, January 24.

"Participating in testing at Sebring alongside the other IMSA-sanctioned series gives everybody involved a great opportunity to jump start their preparations for the 2010 season," said Atlantic Championship Vice President of Operations John Brunner. "There has been quite a lot of activity and discussion among the teams since our 2009 season ended in October and we will see how things have progressed at this test. It's also a great opportunity for our teams to get baseline setups for our season opener at Sebring in March."

Opportunities to participate in the Sebring test and the 2010 season are currently available. Interested drivers are encouraged to contact Atlantic Championship series headquarters at +1 (317) 858-0400 or Brunner via email to jbrunner@atlantic-championship.com.

Sebring International Raceway will host the opening round of the 2010 Atlantic Championship on Friday, March 19. The race is part of the festivities for the 58th Annual Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring presented by Fresh From Florida for the American Le Mans Series.

Many more announcements regarding the 2010 Atlantic Championship - including driver and team announcements - are expected in the near future.

The Atlantic Championship heads into its 37th year of competition in 2010 and is noted for its long history of graduating its drivers into the top levels of motorsport throughout the world. Graduates include past and present IndyCar drivers such as Bobby Rahal, Danny Sullivan, Michael Andretti, Jimmy Vasser, Danica Patrick, Dan Wheldon, Graham Rahal, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Raphael Matos, Formula One legends and champions such as Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Villeneuve and Keke Rosberg, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers Sam Hornish Jr. and AJ Allmendinger and sports car stars like Jon Fogarty, Alex Gurney, Michael Valiante, Luis Diaz, Joey Hand< strong> and Simon Pagenaud.

Atlantic Championship graduates have won races and championships at the highest levels of motorsport, including Formula 1, IndyCar and Champ Car, and sports cars. In 2009, Atlantic graduates were top competitors in the Indy Racing League IndyCar Series, the American Le Mans Series, the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series and even the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series among many others. Learn more about Atlantic at www.atlantic-championship.com.

-credit: ac