DuQuoin Factsheet

DUQUOIN FACTSHEET RACE: Southern Illinois 100 TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1 mile clay oval LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois DISTANCE: 100 laps (100 miles) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...


RACE: Southern Illinois 100

TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1 mile clay oval

LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois

DISTANCE: 100 laps (100 miles)


SERIES: Event #16 of the 2000 ARCA Bondo/Mar-Hyde Series

Sunday September 3, 2000
Registration 6:00 AM
Garage open 6:30 AM
Practice 9 AM
Talladega Pole Award Qualifying 11 AM (1 lap) 1-34
Southern Illinois 100 1 PM

POSTED AWARDS: $113,421 in prize, point and contingency money.

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: Bondo Body Filler, Mar-Hyde Paints, Auto Value Parts Stores, Coachmen RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amkus Rescue Tools, Cloyes Gear & Products, Cornwell Quality Tools, Earl's Performance Products, Fastlane Footwear, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Firefox Industries, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Hawk Brake, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Motive Gear, QuicShine 99, Racing Champions Diecast Cars, RJS Uniforms, Safe Trac, SpeedVue Racing Tearoffs, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: A&A Manufacturing, ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Carrera Shocks, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Holley HP Carbs, Hoosier Tire Midwest, Hutcherson-Pagan, JE Pistons, Loctite Corporation, Maurtco Powder Coating, MSD Ignition, Nelson Specialties, Oceans Resorts, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Prestone Antifreeze, Pro Cylinder Heads, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Raceline Precision Products, Racing Radios, Reed Cams & Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, Ringers Resources, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Sportec Helmet Mugs, Talladega Superspeedway, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering, Wiseco Pistons.

TELEVISION: SPEEDVISION to be aired 10-6 @ 9 PM; 10-9 @ 1 PM; 10-12 @ 10 PM; 10-13 @ 2 AM.

RECORDS: Qualifying - Ben Hess, 1992, 34.752 seconds (103.591 mph). Race - Dean Roper, 1983, 90.101 mph.

NOTES OF INTEREST: The Southern Illinois 100 will be the 48th ARCA Bondo/Mar-Hyde Series race held on a clay oval since 1974. It will also be the 18th ARCA Bondo/Mar-Hyde Series race held at DuQuoin since the series first raced there in 1983. Dean Roper, the all-time ARCA dirt winner with 9 victories, still owns the race record (see above) at DuQuoin established in 1983. Roper is also the alltime ARCA winner at DuQuoin with 4 victories followed by Billy Thomas with 3, Bob Hill and Bob Keselowski with 2, and tied with one each are Bob Brevak, Jeff Finley, David Goldsberry, Lee Raymond, Bob Schacht and Bob Strait. In 1996, Bob Hill won the Southern Illinois 100 from the pole, the only ARCA driver who has ever won from the pole at DuQuoin. After her recent top-10 run at the new Kentucky Speedway, Prestone ARCA Rookie of the Year candidate Shawna Robinson trails Brian Ross by just 10 markers in that category. The DuQuoin State Fairgrounds has undergone a major facelift for this year’s festivities including removal of the outer guardrail in favor of a concrete wall with new catch fence in some areas. In addition, the backstretch has been widened by 15 feet and the entire track has been outfitted with new clay.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Shawna Robinson , Brian Ross , Bob Schacht
Teams Team Penske , CIP