BRASELTON, Ga. - American Le Mans Series President and CEO Scott Atherton has been honored by the online sports car racing magazine (DSC) for his contributions to sports car racing in 2003.

Honoring several categories in both North American and European racing, DSC named Atherton the "Non-Driver of the Year" in North American sports car racing. DSC's team of reporters and photographers nominated and voted on the awards, which are named annually.

"Racing series are notorious for being run in petty, self-serving manners by ego-comes-first types," DSC wrote in naming Atherton as the award recipient. "The ALMS/IMSA leadership greatly contrasts with this. One team owner that has run in nearly every series put it best that Atherton embodies pure integrity. He ain't perfect, his series has its flaws, but when it comes to understanding that sports car racing requires a blend of catering to manufacturers, teams, sponsors, media and most importantly - fans, no one is on the same planet as Atherton."

DSC further recognized the American Le Mans Series and sanctioning body IMSA with "Achievement of the Year" for the series' 'For the Fans' initiatives.

"It has taken viewing sports car racing at the track to a whole new level," DSC wrote. "Position lights, colorful, informative leader boards, the fantastic Radio Web guys, and iCard, all prove that fans ARE important to the powers that be at IMSA.

"After struggling to follow races in Europe it's always a genuine pleasure to visit an ALMS round. A friendly paddock and unrivaled facilities for the fans; truly all endurance racing should be organized like this."