AUSTIN, Texas – Circuit of The Americas is honored to have racing legend Bobby Rahal as the Honorary Starter for the American Le Mans Series race presented by Tequila Patrón (ALMS) on Saturday, Sept. 21.

Bobby Rahal
Bobby Rahal

Photo by: Jay Alley

As a driver, Rahal won three championships and 24 races in the CART open-wheel series, including the 1986 Indianapolis 500, and competed in Formula 1™. He also won the 2004 Indianapolis 500 as a team owner for the winning driver, Buddy Rice.

Rahal was an accomplished sports car racer and earned wins in the 1981 24 Hours of Daytona and 1987 12 Hours of Sebring and currently co-owns Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with LATE SHOW host David Letterman and businessman Mike Lanigan.

The team’s ALMS program, BMW Team RLL, won the 2010 GT team and manufacturers championships in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) with BMW, swept the top two spots in the 2011 Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring and secured 2011 ALMS GT drivers championships for Joey Hand and Dirk Mueller.

Rahal was inducted into both the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2004 and the Sports Car Club of America Hall of Fame in 2013.

“It’s an honor to be asked to throw the Green Flag for the first of hopefully many exciting races for the series at Circuit of The Americas,” said motorsports legend Bobby Rahal. “I have looked forward to seeing the track in person for a while. It looks like a fantastic facility and is sure to produce great racing for the series.”

Circuit of The Americas