Porsche honors American Le Mans Series drivers at annual Porsche Cup Dinner

BRASELTON, Ga. (December 8, 2003) -- Rising sports car racing star Marc Lieb was honored with the 2003 Porsche Cup Award as the most successful privateer Porsche driver of the 2003 season. Lieb, who competed in selected American Le Mans Series races in 2003, was joined at an awards ceremony Saturday night in Germany by several ALMS drivers and officials of the series, as well as drivers from other forms of racing.

The German driver received a coveted silver-gold trophy and 37,000 Euros in prize money as the Porsche Cup champion.

The 23-year-old Lieb drove a Porsche 911 GT3 RS for Orbit Racing in American Le Mans Series competition in 2003 as well as in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The team finished second in the GT class at Le Mans, with Leo Hindery and Peter Baron co-driving, while Lieb and Baron scored a third-place finish in the ALMS event at Canada's Mosport International Raceway for the team's best ALMS finish of the year. Lieb also won the N-GT category in Europe's FIA GT Series.

American Le Mans Series driver Kevin Buckler of Sonoma, Calif., finished second in the Porsche Cup standings after winning the award last year. Buckler, driver-owner of The Racers Group team, received 23,000 Euros as the runner-up.

Alex Job, owner of the GT class championship team in the American Le Mans Series, was recognized at the ceremony along with ALMS GT driving champions Sascha Maassen and Lucas Luhr. Job was also joined by Dale White of Petersen Motorsports/White Lightning Racing as they were recognized for their combined effort that took first place in the GT class in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Other regular drivers in the American Le Mans Series who finished in the top 15 in the Porsche Cup were David Murry, Atlanta, driver for J3 Racing, fifth; Cort Wagner, Pacific Palisades, Calif., The Racers Group, sixth; Johnny Mowlem, England, Petersen Motorsports/White Lightning Racing, seventh; Craig Stanton, Long Beach, Calif., Petersen Motorsports/White Lightning Racing, eighth.

Also in the top 15 were Alex Caffi, Italy, PK Sport Porsche, 12th; Justin Jackson, Buford, Ga., J3 Racing, 13th; Peter Baron, Deerfield Beach, Fla., Orbit Racing, 14th; and Michael Schrom, Ghent, N.Y., The Racers Group, 15th.

Scott Atherton, President and CEO of the American Le Mans Series, and Doug Robinson, Executive Director of sanctioning body IMSA, attended the ceremony.