The Porsche Cup is staying with Flying Lizard Motorsports and the American Le Mans Series. Johannes van Overbeek was presented over the weekend with the Porsche Cup, which goes annually to the world's top independent Porsche driver. He finished second in the GT2 driver championship with Flying Lizard teammate and Porsche factory driver Jorg Bergmeister.

Van Overbeek, 34 and from San Francisco, appeared in all 12 American Le Mans Series rounds in 2007 with three victories (including his first Petit Le Mans win) and seven podium finishes. He and Bergmeister led the class championship through the seven races as the Lizards finished second in the team title chase.

For his efforts, He receives the sought-after silver-gold trophy as well as 37,000 Euros ($48,100) in prize money. The Porsche Cup is endowed with prize money totalling 153,000 Euros ($198,900).

Darren Law finished second in the Porsche Cup standings as Flying Lizard drivers placed 1-2 for the second year in a row. He made nine starts with two runner-up finishes on the season. Tafel Racing's Wolf Henzler, last year's Porsche Cup winner, placed third.

American Le Mans Series drivers held six of the top 10 positions and represented by GT2 and LMP2. Dyson Racing's contingent of Butch Leitzinger, Andy Wallace, Chris Dyson and Guy Smith each placed in the top 10. The Series has produced the past three winners of the award: van Overbeek, Henzler and Tim Sugden (2005 with J3 Racing).

-credit: alms