BRASELTON, Ga. (January 12, 2003) -- American Le Mans Series GTS class champion Ron Fellows was honored Saturday night as a First Team member of the 2002 Auto Racing All-America Team.

The American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) honored the 13 members of the First Team at an awards ceremony in Pomona, Calif. Fellows, driver for the factory Corvette team on the American Le Mans Series, attended the ceremony with his wife, Lynda.

Ron Fellows.
Photo by Michael Kim.

AARWBA chose 13 members of the All-America Team in six categories: road racing, stock car, open wheel, drag racing, short track and at-large. The membership voted for a first and second team, and any driver who received five percent of the vote was also named to the Honorable Mention category.

American Le Mans Series LMP 900 champion Tom Kristensen was named to the second team. Fellows was joined on the first team in the road racing category by Trans-Am Series champion Boris Said.

Fellows, 43, was on the winning team in seven of the 10 American Le Mans Series races held in 2002, including wins in the two longest races of the series, the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring and Audi presents Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta. He also scored wins at Infineon (Sears Point) Raceway, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, RFK Stadium Circuit in Washington, D.C., Mosport International Raceway and the Miami street circuit. Fellows also won the GTS class pole six times in 10 races, tying the series record for the most poles by any driver in any class.

Outside of the ALMS, Fellows and the Corvette team won the GTS class in the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second straight year in 2002.

Other members of the First Team included Sam Hornish, Jr., and Christiano De Matta (open wheel), Tomy Stewart and Mark Martin (stock car), John Force and Larry Dixon (drag racing), Steve Kinser and J.J. Yeley (short track), and A.J. Foyt, IV, Frank Manzo and Bryan Sellers (at large).

Due to conflicts of testing, racing events and other banquets, only three of the 13 First Team members were able to attend the banquet. Fellows and Said were on hand to give the road racing category 100 percent attendance. Sellers, the 2002 USF2000 champion, also attended.