Dubai -- With just over 1.5 seconds separating the top and the bottom of the timing sheet and less than half a second separating the top six, this afternoon's qualifying session will be a hard fought contest for pole position in tomorrow's Sprint race. On a circuit just 18 months old, A1 Grand Prix is setting a new benchmark for lap times, recording speeds in excess of 270kph and a fastest lap time of 1.45.676 set by A1 Team France's Nicolas Lapierre this morning.

Qualifying consists of four 15 minute sessions with a 10 minute break between each. Only one driver per A1 Team is allowed to take part in Qualifying but that driver must have completed at least three timed laps in an Official Practice session. Each driver is limited to three laps - effectively one "flying lap" - per session and must record at least two times, an aggregate of which will determine that A1 Team's position on the grid for Sunday's Sprint race. The grid for the Feature race will be determined by the outcome of the Sprint race. <pre> Nominated drivers for Qualifying A1 Grand Prix of Nations, Dubai, UAE

A1 Team         Driver
Australia       Will Davison
Austri          Mathias Lauda
Brazil          Nelson Piquet JR
Canada          Sean McIntosh
China           Tengyi Jiang
Czech Republic  Tomas Enge
Franc           Nicolas Lapierre
Germany         Adrian Sutil
Great Britain   Robbie Kerr
India           Armaan Ebrahim
Indonesi        Ananda Mikola
Ireland         Ralph Firman
Italy           Enrico Toccacelo
Japan           Hayanari Shimoda
Lebano          Basil Shaaban
Malaysia        Alex Yoong
Mexico          Salvador Duran
Netherlands     Jos Verstappen
New Zealand     Matt Halliday
Pakist          Adam Khan
Portugal        Alvaro Parente
South Africa    Stephen Simpson
Switzerland     Neel Jani
USA             Philip Giebler